Basket tour pt 2

This is the bedlam that basket-making creates.

Baskets to the left:

Baskets to the right:

I grabbed this laundry basket and brought it out to the shop to measure the handles so I can copy them. I made this one in 1988.

The handles are white oak, the basket is ash. Lashing around the rims is hickory bark. That might be the 2nd lashing, it looks newer than the basket, but I forget if I re-did it.

 

It once had a braided foot running around the bottom, When that wore out, I put white oak and hickory bark “skids” on it. These save the wear & tear on the basket’s bottom.

I bought two baskets on ebay, so I could study them in detail. When I’m done I’ll sell them on to the next person, I don’t need to be collecting baskets. This one’s a real beauty, just as simple as can be. White oak throughout. Round bottom, eight uprights, seven of which are split in half to give an odd number of uprights. That way the weaving winds around and around alternating over one/under one as it goes. It’s about 10″ in diameter, and 5″+ up to the rim.

It’s in great shape, nothing missing, no major cracks that I can see yet.

The outside of the bottom:

The handle isn’t notched for the rim. It is woven into the body, and then it pokes out, gets split in half. One half weaves down the bottom, one half turns up & weaves in on itself.

The other is a rib-style basket, usually associated with Appalachia. All white oak as well.

It’s quite small, I forgot to measure it but it fits inside the other one. Just…

I made a few baskets of this form back in the 1980s, but haven’t made one since. I got fixated on New England/New York style baskets, and stuck with those. This is a fine example of that type of basket, very “workmanlike” – not a precious piece of weaving (neither of these two).

 

If anyone wants to buy the old ones, let me know. I paid $94 total for both & shipping. I’ll sell them for $35 each plus shipping. I’ll have some of my own baskets for sale in a week or two. They’ll be way more than that!

10 thoughts on “Basket tour pt 2

  1. I’ll take the “old” baskets you mentioned! How many and the total? Thanks for all you do and teach so well! Ken Mosley

    • Hi Isaac – It’s been many, many years since I made oak splits. We just don’t have enough white oak saplings around here. There’s good books on it, must be videos somewhere too. I like Rachel Nash Law’s book about Appalachian White Oak basketry – I forget the title off the top of my head…shouldn’t be hard to run down.

      • We don’t have white oak either, so the interest is academic I guess.
        “Appalachian White Oak Basketmaking: Handing Down the Basket” – a resource you’ve recommended here before. Thanks.

  2. I love that bedlam, my workshop currently looks very similar, basket making gets pretty addictive. Looking forward to seeing the results.

Leave a comment