Bedpost tops

Closing in on the end of this bedstead. It’s been ages; I have the best customers, so patient!

This week one of the tasks I did was cutting out the rosette-shapes on the tops of each bedpost. I carve the designs in them when the post is solid, then cut them out afterwards. The ash posts are 2″ x 3 1/2″.  It starts with some saw kerfs:

Then chisel-work down to that saw cut:

Here’s a closer view of some of that work:

To clean up those chisel-cuts, I pare across the posts’ thickness with a very sharp paring chisel. This leaves a faceted surface. If this one is like our bedstead, these will get a great patina from handling them.

I bevel the backs too – just to remove any sharp corners.

Here’s one from the foot of the bed:

We’ve had very few winter ducks this season so far. Today in the afternoon, there was great light on a female common goldeneye (Bucephala clangula) so I snuck (or sneaked) down to the river to take a few photos.

3 thoughts on “Bedpost tops

  1. Peter! Longtime fan. Of course never heard from. The bedstead is over the Elizabethan moon. That’s a WOW!! Best, Phil 

    Sent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

  2. peter,

    forgive my ignorance, but i see some paler sapwood on the posts. Is this wood okay to use on larger parts (not spindles and such)? It seems less dense from the red oak I’ve been using recently.

    thx!

Leave a comment