the cat’s out of the bag: that old joiner’s shop you saw here this fall….

Once again, remember this place? I’ve posted it a couple of times, https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/workbenches-lathe/ and https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/tool-racks/ and one more: https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2012/10/26/photos-from-a-great-day-of-study/

 

18th-century shop

 

Now you can read part of the story, from today’s Boston Globe:

http://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/regionals/south/2012/11/23/eighteenth-century-woodworker-shop-found-duxbury-said-one-kind/ou50acy7YQ5xwTlEFI05XK/story.html

(Ahhh…the link now only gives me a preview – says I need to subscribe. If the link fails you, do a search for “Luther Sampson Duxbury shop” or something like that. Might be that I reached the monthly limit on freebies at Boston.com…)

I hope you can read it, it’s exciting stuff. Kudos to Michael Burrey for seeing it for what it is…and to the many who have worked thus far on documentation, research, etc.

 

 

13 thoughts on “the cat’s out of the bag: that old joiner’s shop you saw here this fall….

  1. Hey Peter,

    Thanks for the link to the Boston Glob article! It was a great read. What a magnificent piece of historic architecture, let us know what else you learn about the structure. I would love to be able to work on it’s restoration!

    Thanks again,

    Jay

  2. Hey Peter!!
    Thank you for reminding why I remembered seeing this some time ago. This is so awesome. Would be cool if you could work out of this.

    Megan

  3. Thanks for the link the Globe post. The journalist’s comment on the planing bench made me wonder. I’m thinking that the planing bench was probably placed furthest from the fireplace just because planing down stuff can bring a good sweat, not because of the fire risk. You deal with that task on a regular basis. What do you think Peter?

  4. How very exciting. I’m willing to bet that much more will become knows as this shop is preserved. I’d give a tooth for a shop with those dimensions! Thanks for blogging about this, Peter. I feel blessed as I live in Massachusetts and may one day get to see the site!

  5. Luther Sampson was a good man, a talented Joyner and Religious man and I am looking forward to the follow up information on Mr.Sampson, thanks Peter

  6. I needed to thank you for this fantastic read!! I absolutely loved every little bit of it.
    I have got you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff you
    post…

Leave a comment