Moe Follansbee knew what’s what

Over two months ago, I lost my everyday knife. I looked everywhere and came up empty. I decided it either broke off the strap, and fell, or got dropped into a bag of shavings & went the way of all things. I have lots of slojd knives – so I could keep carving spoons without any discomfort. But usually I like wearing one for everyday use. I finally gave up looking, and ordered some new blades.   I tried to be positive about it, thinking maybe someone found what would become a really good knife for them.

everyday sloyd
before it was lost

I had the blade since about 1992, it was on its 2nd handle. (I split the first one using the knife like a little froe). When I replaced the handle, I made the sheath. That was about 12 years ago. A friend at the museum made the leather work. Once the new blades arrived, I made a new knife and sheath. It was OK, but not the same.  This one, I tried my hand at the leather, but for one thing my model was gone! Here I am boring out the blank for the handle, to fit the knife’s tang.

Paring the new handle.

here is the end result, works fine. But doesn’t feel right one way or another. The leather I used was too thick for one thing, so it didn’t conform quite as well as I wished. Handle is the only piece of boxwood I had. Why did I try that?

Here’s the knife out of the sheath. It works, I was carving spoons yesterday with it. Clicks into the sheath like it’s supposed to do. I was thinking I’d do it over at some point, but things are getting busy around here right about now. 

Today I was sorting & cleaning inside & out. In the shop, it came time to climb up & hang this year’s Greenwood Fest poster. I’m not a huge poster fan, but Greenwood Fest is a pretty special affair for me, so up it went. Right above last year’s version. While I was there, I grabbed that basket for the tools & materials in it. I made some basket rims & handles from the hickory I wrote about last time, and this week I’ll install them. Needed the clips and other bits in there.

 

And don’t you know – in the basket was my old knife. Made a good day a great one.

It’s always the last place you look, my father used to say.

14 thoughts on “Moe Follansbee knew what’s what

  1. As George Carlin used to say “Of course it was in the last place you looked!” You would be pretty silly to keep looking for your knife for another hour after you found it.
    I’m glad you found your knife though. If you have been using that blade for 25 years, it must be like an extension of your arm. Now the question is, who the heck put it in that basket and hung it up in the rafters?

  2. Hello Peter,

    “There’s a dragon with matches that’s loose on the town”

    I’ve got a bunch of boxwood for ya. I’ll be in touch about the LN thing in a couple of days.
    I hope all is well,
    Michael

  3. Great story. May it be so with all the lost tools. I’ve got a sloyd knife somewhere… The timing of your piece was great for me as I’m getting ready to make a sheath. Do you wet the leather and let it dry over the knife to get the conformation to the handle? Peace, Glenn

  4. Morning Peter,

    Congrats on finding the “old” knife.” I know how frustrating it is to look for something, know you have it somewhere, but not be able to find it. Congrats, too, on another great Greenwood Fest! So much fun, so much learning.

    Cheers,
    Derek

  5. I have a similar story about a “crow bar”. I have had this bar since the late 80’s. I picked it out of a scrap barrel at Vogue Wallcovering in Fitchburg when I was delivering a trailer load of fuel. I forged a point on it and then used it for nearly everything around the farm. Two years ago I scoured the place looking for it to no avail. Last Spring I stumbled over it when I was hooking the plow to the tractor. I had used it to push the lift arms off the pins. I have no doubt that I had stuck it in the ground upright. The steers most likely used it as a scratching post until they knocked it flat.

    • Also…I would recommend the laminated blades, not the full carbon steel as the laminated blades are easier to sharpen with a scandi grind.

  6. Thank you so much for showing a bit of the handle making operation. Do you use epoxy to set the blade in the handle? If so what type??

    Thanks again and I am glad you found your knife. Few things feel as good as finding something special that you thought was lost good.

Leave a Reply

