birds, not woodworking. again.

Even home-school kids have field trips, and I tagged along on one today to a place called Manomet – https://www.manomet.org/ to see a presentation about banding migrant landbirds. The winds finally shifted about 2 days ago, so now the southwest winds are bringing warblers up to New England.

Trevor Lloyd Evans and Maina Handmaker were our hosts, and gave us a lot of their time & attention. Here’s some of the birds we saw up close, as they were ready to be released, after having been weighed, measured, and recorded…

well, this first one wasn’t captured – it’s a flyover during our intro – an osprey.

this one I shot a lot, because I had never seen one before – a mourning warbler (Geothlypis philadelphia)

Maina & one of the kids releasing a female American redstart (Setophaga ruticilla)

This might be that redstart, or a young male we saw after..

Showing some of the kids how to tell the age of this catbird, based on feather color…

Northern waterthrush (Parkesia noveboracensis)

female magnolia warbler (Setophaga magnolia)

Least flycatcher (Empidonax minimus) – I could never ID this bird beyond “flycatcher” –

Rose got to let this one fly…

Right near the end of our visit, we got to see this chestnut-sided warbler (Setophaga pensylvanica)

 

And one whose name makes some sense – the common yellowthroat (Geothlypis trichas)

Trevor and Manomet’s mascot, the gray catbird (Dumetella carolinensis)

thanks to all for making this trip possible. I had more fun than I could stand.

12 thoughts on “birds, not woodworking. again.

    • Thanks, Richard for bringing it up. I meant to add something about that. I just got in the habit of adding the Latin names – for the non-North Americans…I try to do it with trees too. No, I don’t know them, except for one or two. I look ’em up! I was in Sweden last year, and having a book with the Latin names helps to see what family the birds are in…sometimes. Then I can see what it relates to that I know…

  1. Very cool! MBI? Boy I had no idea such a variety of birds were there… I used to live in the condos up at the point and we always had lots of birds

  2. good day for the kiddos and you. The closest I’ll ever get to a Mourning warbler are these shots on your blog–you chose a good day–

  3. Peter,
    Thanks for posting about all your interests! Because of this blog I have really begun to take a look at all birds as I see them. Raptors are my favorite. I once got to have a Great Horned owl perch on my arm. That was an experience.
    All the best,
    Jon

  4. envious as always, you have more warblers in your backyard than we have native passerines in ours(3 1/2). Grey warbler(riroriro), fantail (piwakawaka), shining cuckoo (pipiwharairoa) and silver eye (Tauhou). The latter makes the 1/2 as they arrived en-masse in 1856, commonly thought to have island hopped via trans-Tasman sailing ships.
    Great photos of the redstart but where is the red?

Leave a Reply

