chest with drawers; pulls and more

First off, nice going to those who pitched in to help that Vermont school teacher with the fundraiser to buy spoon tools. They met their goal quite easily, I think thanks to you blog readers here. These on-screen connections can be alienating sometimes, but at times like this one, it truly is a community feeling. I really do appreciate the feedback I get from this blog, it means a lot.


Tomorrow I’ll deliver this chest with drawers to the Fuller Craft Museum for the exhibition about Plymouth CRAFT. http://fullercraft.org/event/living-traditions-the-handwork-of-plymouth-craft/

I did the bulk of the last-minute junk last week, and a good thing too. Just been knocked out with a flu-ish thing for 5 days. All 4 of us have had it in various forms – so it’s felt like a long time since we’ve had our heads above water.

After watching all the bowl turners at North House a couple of weeks ago, I wanted to come home & turn bowls. But instead, I turned drawer pulls in white oak.

The drove them through the hole I bored in the drawer front, and split the tenon with a chisel.

and drove an oak wedge into the resulting split.

Here is the wedged tenon, just prior to trimming.

These pulls are about 1 1/4″ in diameter.

I made some adjustments to the drawer runners. These things are always fussy…they fit into notches in the stiles, and often I toe-nail through them into the stile. You can see one of those nails out at the rear stile in this shot:

Here you can see one of the drawer runners in the drawer opening above, and the groove in the drawer side below. When all goes well, this is a nice way for a drawer to slide. Especially these heavy oak drawers. There will be a pine panel behind these drawers, but that will have to wait til the exhibit is over. Mid-June I think. After Greenwood Fest…

9 thoughts on “chest with drawers; pulls and more

  1. Question
    You wedged pulls simply in center. That can split pulls, or not? They are not that big or long after all.
    Or they will hold well because drawer front and tenons are thick enough?

  2. Peter,
    I love this chest! The knobs on the lower drawers really caught my eye. You are an inspiration, and I look forward to seeing you at the lobster bake on July 8th (?).

  3. Oh my !! this is absolutely beautiful…I used to love watching you work at Plimoth Plantation…one of your admirers for sure…

  4. Stunning, absolutely beautiful. Thank you Peter for always being so generous in sharing your work. Out of curiousity, how often do we see locks on vintages pieces like this?

    As always, thanks for your time.

Leave a Reply

