thank you, all

Thank you. I really am quite a lucky person. For 20 years, I had a job I really loved, got to work every day at making things from wood, while talking to people from all over the world. Then 2 1/2 years ago, I left that work to strike out on my own, and I’ve been very fortunate to have many friends, family, students, readers, editors and more to help me along.

This year I have been almost completely immersed in building my own shop, owing to the incredible generosity of Pret Woodburn. There’s no way to measure what Pret has done for me this year…here he is cutting the first joints in the sills, a year ago today.

pret

As the shop project nears completion, I’ll be shifting back to woodworking on a smaller scale more frequently. Furniture, spoons, carved bowls, and I don’t know what else. I have a few commissions to focus on, as well as my usual travel-and-teaching. And Greenwood Fest 2017 in June.

racks

Today I am boxing & shipping the most recent batch of spoons. I want to convey my utmost thanks to all the readers of the blog, students in workshops, all of you who through various means support my work. Not just financially, but through comments, emails – all of it. I appreciate it. I’m unemployable otherwise, so all you’ve done for me means a lot!

river-view

And maybe 2017 I’ll get some more birds back on the blog –

lift-off 

12 thoughts on “thank you, all

  1. I’m very sure that I’m not alone when I say that if there was ever a more deserving man, I’ve not met him. The knowledge and support you dole out almost daily, is priceless. And you can’t put a price tag on that generosity.

    I hope to see you this coming year.

  2. Hello Peter:
    You are an excellent teacher with great patience! Being directed by you and Roy Underhill on the small rived chest a couple of years ago was a great experience. I wish that I had started learning these skills 30 years ago. My life has been enriched by that experience; I try to take a wood break for an hour every day. Congratulations on your shop and your new career. Merry Christmas!

  3. Thank you Peter, for always sharing your knowledge and experience. It’s very encouraging to watch your journey from employment to self employment. You are truly a rock star in your field and give guys like me hope that I could do the same thing some day soon. I hope I can make it to greenwood fest! Much respect

    ben kirk

  4. Peter, thank you! You are an inspiration to me to get started. I’ve cut many spoons this year and built a joiner’s bench among other things. Many of us desk jockey’s find lots of inspiration in the work that you do, your dvds, visits to the Woodwright’s Shop, etc.

    My wife and I are going to try our best to come to Greenwood Fest this year, so we might meet you then!

    Travis Wright

    On Fri, Dec 16, 2016 at 9:42 AM, Peter Follansbee, joiner’s notes wrote:

    > pfollansbee posted: “Thank you. I really am quite a lucky person. For 20 > years, I had a job I really loved, got to work every day at making things > from wood, while talking to people from all over the world. Then 2 1/2 > years ago, I left that work to strike out on my own, and I” >

  5. Hi Peter,
    As an amateur woodworker I enjoyed watching you for the 10 years I volunteered at Plimoth Plantation.
    I especially liked when you worked the whiplash lathe. I hope someday you can make arrangements to come back as a guest joiner from time to time.

  6. Peter, without you I would have never picked up a hatchet for any kind of woodworking. You and Chris have changed my life forever. Looking forward to taking some kind of workshop in 2017! Thanks

  7. Thank you, Peter, for doing so much to share information with those of us who just don’t have access to learn these skills that have become so rare. And for being a true inspiration. You have the heart of a teacher, sir.

  8. Thanks Peter for being brave enough to go it on your own so we can live vicariously through you. :)

    Its one of the bright spots of my day to check in and see what you’ve been up to.

  9. Thank you Peter for doing what you do! I have been so inspired by the riving workshop that I’m itching to learn more from you.

  10. Peter,
    Thank you for three wonderful classes (riving, Greenwood Fest and spoons)! Spoon #1 from last week got nearly finished tonight with “carving and a movie”, and it has a fat finial.

  11. Love your blog and photography first met you at Colonial Williamsburg ” Working Wood in the 18th Century ” conference few yrs back. Love your bird pics hope you have a great holiday

Leave a Reply

