inspired by students

I did some carving today, in white pine, for window trim in the workshop. The pattern I cut was inspired by the students in the joined chest class at Connecticut Valley School of Woodworking. This design has been evolving for a while now, I wrote about the basic version of this pattern five years ago  https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/patterns-patterns/  This one has the additional step of hollowing the surface, and then doubling up the design.

double-braid

We carved single rows of this in the class, then first one, then another student asked about doubling them up. So I copied them in this case…Here’s some of what I did. The outline is based on margins and horizontal centerlines. I mark off the spacing with a compass, and strike a punch to give me a starting point for the pattern. Then I strike the arcs with a large, #7 gouge. For the doubled braid, the first rows of strikes look like a stack of curved Vs or seagulls…

first-cuts

Then I turn the gouge around, and strike going the other way, toward the outer margins.

flip-gouge

After the vertical strikes, I angle the tool downwards a bit, and remove a crescent chip.
chips

After this step, it now looks like a stack of handlebar mustaches.

 

stack-of-mustaches

Then I go at it some more with the large #7, and begin to connect the arcs…

large-gouge

A shallow #5 gouge snips out some areas between the arcs, making space for some shadows.

5-gouge

Then I used a #8 gouge to hollow the flat parts that remain…this cut is a pivoting quarter-arc…over & over.

hollow-w-gouge

hollow-pt-1-done

some go this way, some go that way…

hollowing

I shot some short video of carving some of this pattern. No edits, some fumbling around is included.

cutting braid from Peter Follansbee on Vimeo.

 

hollowing braid from Peter Follansbee on Vimeo.

5 thoughts on “inspired by students

Leave a Reply

