a short interlude at home

window-partsFor a short while, I’m right back where I want to be…in this case, cutting out window trimming stock.

I spent the past week at Lie-Nielsen, shooting a new video (shaving horse, next year) and teaching spoon carving. It all went great, but all the while, the calendar was clicking by & there’s windows, the door & floor to finish in the shop. So before I leave again on Friday for Connecticut Valley School of Woodworking, http://www.schoolofwoodworking.com/class-schedule/29-speciality-weekend-classes/534-build-a-17th-century-joined-chest-with-peter-follansbee.html

there’s some shop work going on. Windows now. Floor next. Yes, there will be a stove. Stop worrying about me being cold.

One question I got a bit was about the wooden hinge on the hatchet cabinet I showed a while back. Here’s the details:

it starts with a “pintle” in this case, a small block of maple, with a hole bored part way into it. Nailed to a board running beside where the door fits. Oak pin dropped into this hole.

pintle

Then the cleat or hinge itself, I guess. In this case, a strip of walnut. It’s screwed to the door from inside. Could be nailed, but I didn’t have any nails long enough.

hatchet-cabinet-hinge

Here’s the whole view – one critical part is the relief cut right in the back of the cleat, right where the door/stile junction is. this allows the door to swing without binding. The pins can either sit in the block, or be tapered so they drop in from above the cleat/hinge. simple, really.

hinge

I got a note from Patricia Kane at Yale University Art Gallery, with a link to some videos they have posted from their new exhibition http://artgallery.yale.edu/exhibitions/exhibition/art-and-industry-early-america-rhode-island-furniture-1650-1830

For my part, I made a copy of a 17th-century joined chair that is featured in the exhibition. The video of my work is partly taken from my Lie-Nielsen DVD on making a wainscot chair, and the carving bits were shot in my unfinished workshop.

 

Here is a link to the rest of the video series from the exhibition  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqJmQZgy9f_dFPp_5ugEsSB2fu8uiU9oh 

And here is the link to the full DVD from Lie-Nielsen on making a wainscot chair – https://www.lie-nielsen.com/product/home-education-videos/17th-century-wainscot-chair-with-peter-follansbee?node=4243 

3 thoughts on “a short interlude at home

  1. Thank you for taking the time to explain the wooden pintle hinge on your cabinet. I look forward to trying my hand at these type hinges soon. Your shop space is really coming together, totally Peter Follansbee.

  2. thank you for the update, i love the hinge details you provide!

    I was able to watch the youtube video of your joined chair build but for some reason the audio did not work for me (though other youtube vids that i play confirm that my computer audio seems to be functional). maybe this is a teaser for me to get one of them DVDs.

    I love your work Mr. Folansbee. Every time i see one of your blog posts on the unpluggedshop aggregator, i look forward to seeing what you have to say. even if it’s for the birds, ESPECIALLY if it’s for the birds, dear!

    -Adam of oakland, ca, usa

Leave a Reply

