some progress on the shop

I have another post to do about my trip, but today shot a few lousy photos while I was working inside the shop.

work-site

You can see, it’s still very much a construction site, but some of the time I’m working on furniture in it, other times, working on it. today, on it.

a new cabinet that will hold hatchets, right above the chopping block. A dovetailed case, with board doors & wooden hinges. recycled paneling for the doors. You can also see the first few windows that went in, complete with leftover carvings trimming the framing around them. Next will be a shallow shelf under these windows. 
windows-cabinet

Here’s the cabinet – 24″ x 36″ – about 4″ deep. Right now it has no fittings inside, I won’t put the hatchets in until all the windows are in. It hasn’t rained here in southern New England all summer, but I don’t want to push my luck…

cabinet

Just above the tie beam there is a poster & certificate from my trip to Saterglantan. Jarrod Stone Dahl & I were the 3rd & 4th recipients of the Wille Sundqvist & Bill Coperthwaite Slojd Fellowship awards. Quite an honor…here’s some text from a note Peter Lamb sent out in the spring, giving an idea of the fellowship:

“The Wille Sundqvist and Bill Coperthwaite Slöjd  Fellowship is awarded to craftspeople to further deepen the meaning, skills, and connections among those passionate about simple living and handmade objects. The Fellowship provides financial support to green woodworkers and other craftspeople to travel from their home country and share their thinking about handcraft, showcase their skills and design work, further their own research, and extend the international community of interest.”

I am very grateful to Jogge Sundqvist and Peter Lamb for all their work making this award a reality, and to Norman Stevens for his contribution as well. (JoJo Wood & Beth Moen were the first two, at Greenwood Fest this spring) –

wall-art

Outside, I started putting battens on, got most of the south side done. One more narrow window to be framed on our left here, then I can finish the battens.

south-side-view

Our neighbor Dave made the bird house on the right, and a downy woodpecker has been enlarging Dave’s holes…
downy-wp

He was at it quite a while.

downy-wp-detail

2 years ago, when I left my job & old shop behind, I put a bunch of stuff into storage. Now I’m beginning to get it back. Here’s part of the wood supply, tucked up in the rafters. And our snowshoes, which got zero use in 2016.

wood-strorage-loft

Back outside, I couldn’t resist, especially after seeing Sweden. If I had been there first, this would be a different building.

couldnt-resist

Lunch time for Ardea herodias. 

heron-w-fish

 

13 thoughts on “some progress on the shop

  1. I knew, as soon as I spotted your post, that you couldn’t leave the workshop without new carvings.

    They’re beautiful!

    Congratulations on your Wille Sundqvist & Bill Coperthwaite Slojd Fellowship awards award!
    I love the birchbark paper! That sure beats parchment.

  2. Better press on with making the workshop weather tight. It’s been a great summer and looks like a great fall up the Eastern Seaboard. BUT, you don’t want to press your luck and have snow drifts across the bench and chopping block!!

  3. Peter: I so very much enjoy your posts on making your workshop. Having a dedicated working space is such a visceral pleasure. A lot like that woodpecker feathering its next!

  4. A traditional Swedish way to handle woodpeckers (and squirrels) and hinder them from entering a bird house is to drive in small nails or tacks in a tight circle around the entrance hole. That’ll, literary, give them something to chew on.

  5. the storage space is filling up before the windows are in. welcome to the club!

    looks like its shaping up to be a delightful space, full of odd interesting bits and details. you might have to take up pipe smoking to complete the picture.

  6. Peter I thoroughly enjoy your posts and look forward to reading them I’ve noticed that you have no insulation in your shop it gets a bit chilly in New England during the winter but I guess during 18 th & 19 th century not insulation

  7. Looking great Peter, really enjoy your post. Would a little post on the wood hinges on your hatchet cabinet be possible? They look fragile, I know there is more there than meets the eye.

  8. What are the dimensions? Will you be heating it? And how will you keep mice out? It looks wonderful, especially with the carved trim and beam.

  9. Beautiful, jaw-dropping beautiful. Very grateful that you let us share in all this. Greatly enjoy the birds, too – several we have in common in Indiana. Fine joinery is more than just working wood.

  10. I enjoy your newsletters. Especially hen you have something to report,on Jögge andWillie. I have attended their workshops at Country Workshops inNC. Also traveled to Sweden with Drew Langsner and stayed at Wille’s.
    Joseph Macialek

Leave a Reply

