loose ends

The days are flying by, and Greenwood Fest is coming up next. I have been poking away at a few things. The workshop project is moving ahead. We’ve been siding it, once Pret & I figured out window placement. I don’t have any shots of it lately; I’ll get some next time I work on it.

Here’s the bowl horse Pret made for Dave Fisher’s class – we saw this the other day. But on last Saturday, Pret & I got to try it out. Plymouth CRAFT was once again presenting their stuff at Pinefest – http://www.pinebarrensalliance.org/pinefesthome.asp 

bowl horse detail

Here’s Pret using the horse –

pret & bowl horse

and shortly after we started making slight adjustments. We’ll wait for Dave to show us what’s really what with this thing.

1st adjustment

While I was carving spoons at the event, a woman came to tell me about a “Rev war” spoon she had in her collection. She later brought it over and I asked if I could photograph it. It looks like this:

spoon

spoon back

spoon bowl

spoon profile

I was interested because I often wonder “what does an American wooden spoon look like?” –  so I asked what the provenance was, how she knew it was a Revolutionary War-era spoon. Well, she said, her husband’s father was a pattern-maker, and he lived to be 100 years old. So her husband grew up around this sort of thing.

I said nothing. A rare moment…

It’s Daniel’s baseball season again – here is an epic-looking swing, but I think it was a foul ball.

epic swing

I get a good bit of spoon carving in during the batting practice before the games…not only am I the only carver in the stands, I’m the only one I can see doing anything not involving a smartphone. Sad…

the only carver in the stands

 

game spoons
game spoons

And while working on the shop, every day the hawks get harassed & chased. It’s a hard life..

RT hawk 2

RT hawk

hawk & crow

8 thoughts on “loose ends

  1. I saw that spoon too. It made me feel something when I glanced over their table that immediately took my full attention. I had to hold it, I did t even ask… (Sorry). The spoon felt so right in my hand. The facets, the gentle curve, the patina of a more than two centuries. There is a little relief in the “neck” of the spoon, where the handle meets the bowl, that wasn’t much but it made the spoon.
    Thanks for taking some photos of it. I needed to get back to with the family before I could get any.

    Oh, and, in the short time I sat on the bowl horse while explaining to a few kiddos what it is, I was amazed at how comfortable it was to sit in, and how little effort it took to clamp a bowl. I can’t wait to work with it.

    Also if you don’t mind I’d like to gain some traffic on my new blog. Here’s the link.
    https://hiscarpentryblog.wordpress.com

  2. Peter….Peter…you’re missing the marketing spin of that fabulous epic swing. Should be on the cover of the Easton catalog…. Boy hits it out of the park….you could too with a bat from Easton….

    Great image….Daniel need to hang it large on his bedroom wall!!

    👏👏👏😀😀

  3. The horse looks great in action, Peter. I think Pret’s doing exactly what I might have done to the width of the top. Easy adjustments to make over time… a little more off here, and so on.

Leave a Reply

