Greenwood Fest 2016 update

 

axe & club

Today’s the day that we can tell you that Friday’s the day.

Sounds confusing, right? Well, this is your heads-up, registration for Plymouth CRAFT’s Greenwood Fest 2016 opens Friday December 4th, 9am eastern time. The dates for the festival are June 10-12th, 2016. Location is Plymouth, Massachusetts.

In typical fashion, it’s still a work-in-progress (I still have 2 instructors to introduce, plus me & the guys from Plymouth CRAFT) and some bells & whistles about the scheduling…but all that is icing. Friday you can secure your spot. Then it’s all details & waiting.  Here’s the page as it now stands – http://plymouthcraft.org/?page_id=2189

spoon rack

6 thoughts on “Greenwood Fest 2016 update

  1. I hope this is going strong in a few years when our twins are old enough to make the trip from North Carolina without too much headache. Taking a train to Boston would be quite an adventure for them.

    I just finished reading A Simple Life as well as A Man Apart. Fascinating and inspiring. Thank you for your suggestions.

    My neighbor brutalized the river birch in their front yard last week much to my dismay. “Topping” trees should be a crime. I did save several limbs and spent some time over Thansgiving splitting and carving – wearing those same boots. Thank you for the inspiration as well as your instruction.

    Still haven’t tackled a bowl yet and I have John Rice Irwin’s basket making book in hand. I plan to get it in the mail this week.

  2. I ‘tackled’ my first bowl in November during a ‘Bowl & Spoon’ carving class with Drew Langsner at Country Workshops. I had a great time and would recommend it highly to anyone who would like a little formal instruction. I would love to attend the “Greenwood Fest”, but it’s a long drive from FLA for a two-day event.

  3. Hi Peter, Do you know if the Greenwood Fest has an age restriction for the workshops? My 13 year old has been carving spoons and bowls for about a year now and has a keen interest attending.

    As always your Blog is a joy to read!

  4. Agree with the other Florida folk, it’s a looong drive. But how I would love to attend. We’ve got to figure out a way to entice you, Peter, to Florida when the weather is its best. A lot of folk would love a “Southern SpoonFest” (for lack of a better name!)

    I have just purchased your DVD and am watching sections over and over until I get those knife grips into my muscle memory and can think about the spoon and not be so fixated about how I’m holding the knife. Love the DVD. Thanks for making it for those of us who can’t make it on the long journey for Greenwood Fest.

    As a relatively new spoon carver, I am curious to know if there are woods I should not use to carve spoons — spoons that I would eat from. I make wood flutes from all kinds of wood, but my finish is different (shellac) and the flute is never immersed in liquid. While chestnut makes beautiful flutes, is it safe for a spoon that will be used in liquids? I have read that some kinds of chestnut may be dangerous (??), but often I read these comments in the “comments” sections of websites where seldom is there agreement.

    Thank you for your blog. It’s been a joy to keep up with. – Judy

  5. Hey Peter,
    Is that the Robin Wood hatchet shown in this picture? I’ve been seriously considering the Robin Wood as my introductory hatchet.

Leave a Reply

