Thanksgiving 2015

sitting

Thanksgiving here in the US, a national holiday. It’s a long & complicated story, and I don’t get to wrapped up in it. I hate football, turkey and I don’t drink. So it doesn’t really effect me much. I worked for 20 years at Plimoth Plantation, where they get a lot of attention this time of year, it being where the roots of the American holiday are. I left that full-time job a year & 1/2 ago, ditching a regular paycheck, benefits, vacations & some holidays, etc. to strike out on my own. Some of the many things for which I am thankful include students in my classes, customers of my spoons & other woodwork and the readers of this blog – you all make it possible for me to eek out a living doing things I love to do. There’s no telling how long it will last, but I appreciate everyone’s support in my work.

flight

Our friend Peter Lamb has an Instagram site, https://www.instagram.com/gerrishisland/ and today he posted about his friend Bill Coperthwaite, who died two years ago today. Peter’s post included this quote from Bill’s book A Handmade Life:

“When we have more than we need while others are in want, we certainly thieve. But in addition, we enslave ourselves. As we learn to live with fewer and simpler things, and are able to live with fewer expenses, we become less vulnerable to social upheaval. We have greater freedom – visual, mental and spatial – and far greater freedom of movement. And we spend less time maintaining and stumbling over things – physically, mentally, and visually – and worrying about loss.”

Food for thought.

Red tail hawk from a walk in Marshfield today.

last view

flight 2

6 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2015

  1. Great pictures! I live in an area (Aurora, ON) where these birds are, happily, quite common. Also Sharp-shinned hawks, particularly in the winter.
    I love hawks and never tire of watching them!
    R.

  2. Thank you! Really liked the quote from “Handmade Life”. Being a non-drinker fits well with reducing the burden and living simpler.

  3. Thankyou for your blog.. loved the reminder of Bill Coperthwaite.. and I hope you succeed in your new venture away from security of the job etc.. doing what you love.

  4. Thank you Mr.Follansbee for the inspirational Thanksgiving message.I have steadily ridding my workshop(constructed solely by myself) of all my machinery.The Walker Turner lathe from which a concussion and 10 stitches came about from a daydreaming woodturner. My radial arm saw,table saw.jointer etc.
    Your friends quote is spot on on how much weight has been lifted from my shoulders.Today I’m reconditioning a 19th century 38 inch cloggers knife.Hand forged,no factory,an incredible piece of iron and steel.If it takes me all day to polish and sharpen this beauty I’ll be all the better for it.Slight rain here in Lil Rhody,50’s,a perfect day.Be Blessed,Mike Wallace SR RN.

Leave a Reply

