Greenwood Fest, June 10-12, 2016 instructor Jögge Sundqvist

Well, this one wasn’t hard.

Jögge Sundqvist fotad av Erik Nordblad-1

Back in 1988, I met Jögge Sundqvist while I was the intern at Country Workshops, Drew & Louise Langsner’s school for green woodworking. Jögge came to teach a class that summer, and to shoot a video for Taunton Press on spoon & bowl carving. The video is a companion to his father Wille’s book Swedish Carving Techniques. He and I were both younger then,

PF & Jogge 1988

and we each went home & focused on this & that. I became the carved oak guy, he became surolle. Although we corresponded once in awhile, we didn’t meet up again for 22 years! https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/one-of-the-most-exciting-classes-ive-been-to/

So last year, when I heard he was coming to the US to teach, I weaseled my way around to get him to come to Lie-Nielsen, where he shot a new video (after the new year sometime…) and taught a 2-day class in Slöyd, mostly with the axe & knife. https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2015/10/01/sloyd-w-jogge-at-lie-nielsen/

While he & I were together in Maine in September, I floated the idea of coming back for Greenwood Fest in June 2016. And he said yes. Enough blather. Here’s Jögge’s blurb, in English.

“I am working with handtools in the self-sufficient scandinavian fine craft tradition, making stools, chairs, cupboards, knifes, spoons, sculpture and shelves painted with artist oil colour. Since the age of 4 I learned using the knife and the axe by my father  Wille Sundqvist. Educated at the fine woodcraft Vindeln folkhighscool 1982 – 84. Under the name s u r o l l e  I run a professional small business since 1999 where I make sloyd and fine craft. I also teach and give lectures, and write books.”

His website: http://www.surolle.se/

details on registration in a few weeks. Don’t worry, you’ll have plenty of notice…

Jogge w spoon knife
Jogge w spoon knife
Jogge Sundqvist at Country Workshops, 2010
Jogge Sundqvist at Country Workshops, 2010

Show Rhythm and Sloyd - surolle 20 x 30 cm

3 thoughts on “Greenwood Fest, June 10-12, 2016 instructor Jögge Sundqvist

Leave a Reply

