another basket underway

weaving

I’m having so much fun working at making ash baskets lately, in preparation for the upcoming class at Plymouth CRAFT – http://plymouthcraft.org/?tribe_events=wood-splint-baskets-with-peter-follansbee that I feel like I’m skipping work. Today I wove up another rectangular-body basket, this time with what I call a “filled” bottom. All that I mean by that is instead of the usual weaving pattern that results in square spaces between the pieces in the bottom, there are extra fillers woven in to fill these voids. There’s lots of ways to achieve this, – earlier I showed one version:

filled bottom

https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/baskets-continued/

This time, the filler strips were woven continuously, whereas on the one above, they are individual strips woven between each row. those fold over on  themselves. These don’t. (this view is what will be the inside of the basket). Here as I add each wide piece, the narrower weaver wraps around it and winds down the sides…so the white one on the right will bend 90-degrees, and I’ll lay in the next wide piece, then the white one will run down beside it. and the one on the left will do the same, but going up the other way. And on & on.

filled weave

I hadn’t done this weaving since 1990, it took me a couple of false starts to “get it” again. It helped that I was using some newer material mixed with older stuff – so bright white weavers against the aged-looking uprights.

Here’s the view from the bottom:

bottom view

Got it woven up to the point where I now have to let it dry. This one has individual horizontal weavers. That’s how you can work in some narrow & some wide weavers for a different look. This basket is about 10″ x 14″ by maybe 7″ high. I’ll make the rims from white oak, as a demo in the class.

time to dry it

Time to clean up, so I can do some carving tomorrow. And then more of each…

 

 

2 thoughts on “another basket underway

Leave a Reply

