I’d like more hours in the day please

24 just doesn’t seem to be enough. Here’s some things un-finished around here.

sliding lid box

This little box is most significant for what is it not:
a. NOT English, b. NOT oak, c. NOT 17th century, d. NOT rabbeted & nailed. It’s from a detour I took here: http://digitaltmuseum.se/search?query=l%C3%A5da  – but it’s made from leftover Alaska yellow cedar. But that’s as far as I got when I had to put it down for some paying work…still needs its bottom boards, and a drawer.

More of the yellow cedar – this time a mixed metaphor – a spoon rack based on some I’ve seen (in photos) from the New Jersey/Pennsylvania area, carved with 17th century New England patterns in wood from British Columbia/Alaska area. Needs some oil finish, and some spoons.

spoon rack

Both these got shelved for the walnut carving job I have on the bench these days – here’s the newest panel from that project. 5 done, 4 more to go, plus a few extra bits. But I’m off for Indiana this week, teaching at the Marc Adams School of Woodworking, where I hear the soft serve ice cream is legendary.

walnut progress

and of course, I just spent 2 weeks w Jogge Sundqvist, so I’m overloaded with inspiration – and have a bunch of spoons underway.

spoons in the works

When I get back Oct 24, I’m home for the rest of the year. I’ll be teaching two classes with the Plymouth CRAFT crowd – basketry and spoon carving. Here’s their latest offerings – not just the woodsy stuff, but others too.

PlymouthCRAFTFallWinter2015schedulecorrected

Lots more when I get back…I can’t wait.

16 thoughts on “I’d like more hours in the day please

  1. I’m not sure if I’m asking this correctly, but how to you apply the background stippling? I’ve never seen you comment on that. It appears that many of the individual marks are arranged in linear patterns. Do you use something akin to a leather stitching chisel to add several at once?

  2. like the carving on the little box that is most significant for what it is not–good thing has Indiana good soft serve otherwise it’s significant for Dan Quayle, who was represented as a feather in Doonesbury–have good trip.

  3. So I’ve heard through various sources, who shall remain nameless, for their own protection, you understand right? So where was I? Right you’re in the market for some more hours, is that correct? That’s a strange one but hey to ach his own. I’m assuming money is no option or else we wouldn’t be having this conversation. I’ll need a cover story because the folks I deal with are, well I they can get greedy. So I see you use mallets a lot except I see two different types. One is round and the other is, what shape would you call that? It’s like a “zoidish” figures that you learn in math I think. Trapezoidal maybe? They get bigger at the top and wider. Lignin vitae! That’s it I’m sure I heard that word used with these mallets. And they’re big and pretty heavy. Not that I’m weak, so get that out of your mind. I ain’t as tough as I was once upon a time friend, but that don’t mean nothing. Okay? Good. Because I can get what you’re looking for. Only after you tell me about these mallets and why you like those lignum ones. And don’t forget about those little round ones too.

    Get back to me. These specialty item only come around once in a great while.

    Okay? Okay.

    Michael

    • Ahh. Michael – me complaining to you about not enough time! But, nope, my mallets are home-grown. Turned – I like hickory. Nothing better. I currently use a little Australian one someone gave me, it fits better in a suitcase. Stupid reason for choosing tools, but life on the road is weird. Square mallets, (I’m not inclined to figure out their shape’s name, & when your specialty is 17th century stuff, you can get away with approximate English) are usually white oak by default. I expect about 10 years from a square mallet. Longer from the turned hickory ones. Just back from a trip, onto woodworking tomorrow. I can’t wait. PF

  4. I’m with you. A 26-hour day would be fabulous.

    Looks like you’ve got quite the variety of woods in your spoons…cherry, birch, maybe some rhododendron on the bottom and maple at the top? What’s the wood second from the bottom with the strong ray flecks? I was thinking sycamore at first, but it appears to be a dark-on-light ray fleck as opposed to dark-on-light.

    I’ve been wanting to start carving some more spoons lately, but never seem to find the time.

  5. I was fortunate enough to be able to attend the class at MASW in Indiana, and I loved it, even though this was my first attempt at carving. I learned enough to be able to make a nice box, and I plan on doing a few more boxes, and then my first chest. The class was also entertaining – Peter is a hoot once you understand where he is coming from. My biggest surprise was how easily the “green” riven wood (red oak, white oak and ash) carved; before class, I had tried a few cuts in kiln dried oak, and I was expecting the worst.

Leave a Reply

