drawers, pt 1

Finally got to working on the drawers for one of the Connecticut chest with drawers. Inside the chest are slats for the side-hung drawers to ride on. One’s installed here, and below it are the notches where the lower drawer will fit. (above the drawer runner is the groove for the chest floor. It’s easier to see what you’re doing if the floor is not yet installed.)

interior

 

 

the drawer sides are thick, nearly 1″. Even thickness makes them easier to handle too. Here, I’m plowing the 3/8″ groove that will ride on the drawer slat/runner. About 1/2″ deep. I’ve got the drawer sides stacked on top of one another, making sure the top piece’s edge is bumped out towards me, for the plow plane’s fence to run…

plowing drawer sides

 

 

Next, I scribe the thickness of the side on the rear face of the drawer front. scribing rabbet

Then saw & split a rabbet in the drawer front. Clean it up and test fit it.

splitting

needs nails

The drawer side is not as tall as the drawer front. This rabbet is for the drawer bottoms to tuck behind.

 

rabbet

 

Here is a test fit of the drawer side – the slat is in place, and I’ve hung the side on it & slide it in & out to see how it rides. It was at this point that I realized I’ve misplaced the handmade nails I’ll use to assemble this drawer. So I started making the 2nd drawer while I hope the nails miraculously re-appear .

 

test fit

Below is the “other one” – a dovetailed drawer. Similar time frame, late 17th century. Just another way of doing things.

the other one

 

7 thoughts on “drawers, pt 1

    • Joshua, I have a 78 as well, but rarely use it. It’s sharp edges tend to bite, and it’s lack of mass makes it hard to work with. I’ve owned a filitster like the one Peter is using, they are a joy to work with. The only problem I had with it is the slitter wouldn’t stay in place, so I ended up selling it off, hoping to someday soon buy another. If you can find one, get it. Your rabbeting will be much less of a pain

  1. An iconic song at an iconic event
    Click here: ? Jefferson Airplane. White Rabbit. Live Woodstock 1969. Original video, improved vers. – YouTube

Leave a Reply

