one pill makes you larger…

 

poor russ

Poor Russ. I have no proof that Bob Van Dyke dosed him, but there was Jefferson Airplane music playing much of the afternoon; I heard “White Rabbit” at least 3 times. When we got to the demo of me carving the central part of the design below, Russ struggled with the photograph – his eye & mind were seeing “innie” when it should be “outie” & vice-versa. 

center panel_edited-1

 

Here’s the same panel flipped upside-down. Sometimes the shadows being above the design make things weird. Right now, I can’t see it “wrong” – but sometimes I can. Russ couldn’t see it right at the time. Often I tell people to close their eyes, then look again. That often fixes it, but the best thing to do is put the photograph right-side up. Or like Alice, just bite from the other side of the mushroom. 

center panel_pside down

 

 

8 thoughts on “one pill makes you larger…

  1. Top photo looks correct. Bottom photo is so wrong. I look at it and intellectually know what is the background but my eyes are still seeing it wrong. Very strange that just moving the light source can make that big of a difference. I suppose we are wired to perceive depth with a light source above since that’s where the sun is.

  2. I really do not like books with upside down photographs, and there are plenty out there. Winston

Leave a Reply

