ready, set, go

My wife is all right. Among the tons of junk she brought here all those years ago was 2 pairs of old, but not antique, snowshoes. So today after I finished planing oak for the afternoon, I went for a walk in the snow. Found this red-tail hawk. He landed on this branch while I was standing nearby.

Ready:

ready 1

 

Set: 

ready

Go:

 

go

Landed again, all of about twenty or thirty feet from where I first found him. And there he sat, til after the sun went down. 

done

He’s in the middle of this picture on the tall pole. As I was walking back to the car, I heard but did not see 2 great horned owls hooting. 

still there

5 thoughts on “ready, set, go

  1. I hear Great Horned Owls every night, love them. In fifteen years I have only seen one! I’ll walk in our woods in the evening and swear I’m right under them but never see them.

Leave a Reply

