crook with hook

more spoon carving today. One I’ve had hanging around a while is this, my all-time favorite of these “crooks with hooks” – this one in apple, but in the bowl is a bark inclusion that is essentially a deep crack. Oh well, I get to keep it that way…

apple crook

to make this spoon, I stopped looking at the photos of Wille & Jogge’s hooks that I was inspired by…and dove in. I really like the curves this one generated; exaggerated the hook and came up with a satisfying, if useless utensil. I guess limited use, rather than useless. I carved this one last summer at the Lie-Nielsen open house. It’s been around that long. For a sense of scale, it’s about 10″ long. I’m working on a new one in cherry today.

w bark

crack

 

One thought on “crook with hook

Leave a Reply

