The best laid-plans, etc…

Last summer, I set up my lathe outside, to turn some balusters for a theater stage…I did manage to turn a few, but have many more to go. But the deadline got extended to next summer – so that project got shelved quickly. https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2014/07/02/things-take-a-turn/

overall by DRF

From time to time, I had one or two small turning bits to deal with, but otherwise, I kept a tarp over the lathe. But I didn’t like to see its feet getting wet when it rained, and in general kept thinking I’d knock it back apart & store it until spring. One thing after another…and there it sat. I had a wainscot chair on my list of things to make this winter, so I thought I’d do the front stiles for that, then the lathe could come down.

chair stile

Then, I got a pile of short riven sections of black walnut. I decided they were tailor-made for a joint stool in walnut…which I needed like a hole in the head. But I’d like to have some oak-alternatives in the next joinery book, so think of this as a preview. what that meant is that I shuffled my schedule some, to plane, mortise and then turn the stiles for the stool. Here’s a sky-view of the turning work:

sky view overall

sky view

One more –

sky view two

stool parts

Now they’re done, and the lathe is tucked away for the winter. So in one post we go from shorts & a T-shirt, long sleeves & pants, to sweater/vest & hat. The common thread? Horizontal stripes it seems. Maybe by next spring, I’ll have miraculously solved my temporary shop situation and will set up once & for all…

I kept the bowl lathe set up, and even turned a couple of them the other day…hope to get to more soon.

 

One thought on “The best laid-plans, etc…

Leave a Reply

