a good problem to have…

I needed some oak today for the drawer bottom for my box.

drawer w bottom half done

 

Something in the range of 7″ wide, 22″ long. So I went out to the collection of oak bolts in the yard to get something to work with.

DSC_0016

I picked out a few panels; and brought them in to rough-plane them. These had split so well they needed little hewing. Here’s some…

a good problem to have

 

But the problem? Most of the stuff I had on hand was too wide! That almost never happens – it’s usually quite the opposite. The narrow one in the photo above is almost 10″ wide at the bottom end…

narrow one

the wide ones are over 15″ wide and flat – great stock. (thanks, MD for setting me up with it…) –

wide one

I’ll save these for the rear panels to a wainscot chair I have to make. Like this:

 

TD chair overall

Most of the time, I don’t have such wide stock; the one above was similar width, but quartersawn, not riven. You can make a wainscot chair w 2 panels & a muntin too –

PF design three quarters

to make such a chair, see https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/book-dvds/

Now I have to go find some narrower oak.

2 thoughts on “a good problem to have…

  1. Nice boards, but I wish you’d never mentioned the ‘Faces’
    The main design on the first chair looks like an abstraction of the Green Man and flanking him on either side there are pot bellied, pouting Easter Island statues.
    I like it.

Leave a Reply

