Chip carving details

 

 

pine lid

to add a bit more to the previous post about chip carving, here are some details. When you isolate parts of the designs, you see things differently. Here is just one repeat of the  compass-generated motif.

 

pine detail close

 

Then when you shift it another way, and look at the squares instead of the circles, voila.

pine cropped

 

I have have great fun with these ideas, and I always joke about my high-school math teacher rolling in her grave when I teach geometry. I was the typical wise-guy “what do I need this for?” -incredulously. Nowadays I like to think if there had been an application for it, a use for it, I might have listened better. Maybe not. Here it is drawn out on paper first, something I rarely do with gouge-cut 17th-century century carvings.

drawing

 

. This shot is for Bob Van Dyke.

for Bob

10 thoughts on “Chip carving details

  1. Peter, I remember you posted about the knives you use, but I was wondering if you have found one that seems be be a good all around knife. For chip carving that is.

  2. Make sure Bob sees this: perfect! I was at his Open House last weekend and met Karyn de Punte, co-owner of Cape Forge that hand forges all their wood carving tools: http://www.capeforge.com. I encouraged her to seek you out and showed her the panel door you made at the class you taught down there.

  3. That’s a very nice patern. No idea how you make it though.

    I just bought your CD’s (hope you get some revenue too) and am practicing the first exercises. Love it.

  4. I am always amazed at all the work you manage to get done. I have always had a hard time getting my projects finished having two small kids around. Not to mention that I am in the process of building my own home from the ground up. I can’t wait to be done with the house so I can start working on shop projects again.

    You inspire me to get to work and do the things I really enjoy.

    Dave

  5. Beautiful work, Peter. FYI, I was at Plimoth with my students today. It felt strange seeing all your furniture around but no Peter. Thanks for all you contributed to that organization.

  6. And that is why I love patchwork quilts so much, the way the patterns shift when you isolate this part or that, or put this color or shape adjacent to that. I love it when design elements and ideas cross media.

Leave a Reply

