test fitting the box w drawer

I did some more work on the box with drawer that I started the other day. First of all, this is as close as I get to having drawings to work from…and shortly after I begin, these are out the window. 

as close as I come

 

Today I had to finish cutting the housings for the till, and then bore the pilot holes for nailing the box together. These nails are the real thing, i.e. handmade nails. Rectangular in cross-section. Thin, wedge-shaped. Makes boring pilot holes tricky. https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/for-some-work-cut-nails-dont-cut-it/

the real thing

One of the great things about oak is that it splits so well. One of the drawbacks of oak is that it splits so well. Here, I used a tapered reamer to open up the pilot holes. I wedged it back & forth more than reaming it around & around. Have to be very careful here, it’s easy to break out the wood beyond the holes. 

wedge em open

 

I have sometimes hit on the idea of installing the gimmals/snipebill hinges into the rear board before assembling the box. Makes it easy to get at them, and reduces the chance that you knock the box apart while setting the hinges.  (for more on these hinges, see https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/setting-gimmals-you-might-know-them-as-snipe-bills/ )

the real thing pt 2

hinges

I didn’t get a lot further than this – I assembled the rear-to-sides, then temporarily tacked the front board in place so I can measure for the till parts.

http---makeagif.com--media-9-18-2014-76jcPp

Then I cleaned up & went home. Won’t get back to this til the 29th or so. Off to Heartwood School this weekend for next week’s class in box-making. Here’s the test-fit, with some Atlantic White Cedar that will be the till side. 

got this far

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “test fitting the box w drawer

  1. So, to get the square holes in the wood for the nails, you drill a circular pilot hole and then use the reamer to push back the wood, making the hole square? I’ve always wondered about that.

  2. Harpsichords also used gimals hinges. I enjoyed seeing the pictures. You are the only craftsman I know of that can Make them work.the gimals are drawn in plans of Ruckers harpsichords. I asked one builder why not use what Ruckers used (the strad of harpsichords). He said he tried but they just pulled out of the harpsichord lid. Most harpsichord cases are made of soft wood such as poplar. I think its wonderful you have rediscovered the proper technique to make the gimals hinges work.

Leave a Reply

