It’ll look something like this

When I left Plimoth Plantation in June, I wrote that I would be pursuing other aspects of woodworking beyond 17th-century joined oak furniture. But I also laid out that I wasn’t giving up the oak stuff, just adding to it. Bowls, spoons, baskets, weirdo boxes (coming soon) and more…

test only a test

And I have had the best summer ever, picking away at aspects of woodworking both old and new to me…but now it’s time to bring back to the blog some joined oak furniture, carved all over.

I dug my “real” workbench out of storage, and some tools and borrowed a work-space from my friend Ted Curtin – who thankfully almost never makes joined furniture anymore, (he’s a school teacher now – that’s good, because he’s better than me at oak stuff!)

Today I shuffled some stuff around, and will start in soon on shooting carved boxes, chests and more for an upcoming book on joinery.

Between travels that is…

8 thoughts on “It’ll look something like this

  1. Hmm. when I was a kid, we used to buy and assemble these models called “weirdos” – I remember a bunch of bug-eyed bloodshot characters…
    the boxes have nothing to do with that, just very different from the boxes I have made for the past 25 years. I have one underway now, almost ready to show.

Leave a Reply

