word from Dickinsons Reach

This “green woodworking” arena is pretty small of course. While I was at North House Folk School in Grand Marais, MN I was reminded of a few peripheral connections I had to the place. Jogge Sundqvist has taught there a few times; Roger Abrahamson had one of Jogge’s knife/sheath creations, and he let me take some photos…

jogge knife & sheath

I mentioned the other day that I had met Roger before, and we have some mutual friends as well. One other small connection was Bill Coperthwaite. Bill taught out at North House before.

Bill Coperthwaite
Bill Coperthwaite

While we were talking, some folks asked if I knew what was going to happen to Bill’s place, Dickinson’s Reach. I said I didn’t, but I had forgotten that there were memorial services happening maybe right at the same time we were making bowls. When I got back, I had a nice email from Peter Lamb. Peter said they had over 300 people out at Dickinson’s Reach, including some from Malaysia, China & Japan. He sent along this short obit for Bill. I’ll keep the blog readers abreast of anything I hear about how folks are going to help steward Bill’s legacy. Thanks to Peter Lamb for sending this along.

Obituary for William S Coperthwaite

 

2 thoughts on “word from Dickinsons Reach

  1. Exceptional submit. I’d been looking at constantly this site and I am inspired! Handy facts especially the final sections :) My partner and i take good care of these facts lots. I’m searching for this particular certain details for years. Thank you and involving luck.

Leave a Reply

