Maine trip report

I have the greatest time in Maine. Just got back from 7 days there. Can’t wait to go back.  I saw scads of birds. In the spring it’s warblers – small, fleeting little birds, mostly 60 feet up in the tree tops. Some came down low once in a while.

black-throated blue warbler. 

BT blue

Pileated woodpecker holes – just to tease me. These large birds always elude me. I only get fleeting glimpses. 

mortising not by hand

yell0w-rumped warbler, female. 

yellow rumped

The male. 

yellow rumped male

black & white warbler, not quite still enough. 


flyover Great Blue Heron. 

flyover gbh

Most common bird in the Maine woods this past week was the ovenbird. I saw many, but they. like most warblers, are never still. barely got this one. 


Common yellowthroat. They love the water. 

common yellowthroat

Chestnut-sided warbler. many of these around. 

chestnut sided warbler

got him even better. 

chestnut sided again

More pileated ativity, recent too. 


‘nuther yellowthroat. 


Then they screamed in = lousy grey day. but I had to shoot ’em. Didn’t try to get closer, they only stayed a couple minutes. 

woody   2 pileateds

I also had a great bunch of students at Lie-Nielsen, carving spoons. I didn’t shoot much, too busy watching 13 people w axes & knives. maybe 3 band-aids, and some of those were an employee! Next spoon class there is first weekend in October. This one was full, I expect the October one will be also. 

intent students   safe grip


pile of stuff   progress


It looks like nothing is happening, but look at the floor. these people wouldn’t even stop for lunch. we had a day with glorious weather & I took off to look for birds. Only 2 students came outside. the others kept carving. 



6 thoughts on “Maine trip report

  1. Peter, thank you for a wonderful, illuminating class! You made spoon carving feed our spirits! Sue in Chapel Hill

  2. Now you’ve got me watching birds. Whenever I shut the sawmill down for a break, I am amazed at how many birds there are flitting about doing there thing. When I was a kid there was some sort of woodpecker that tried to eat the side of our house. I got used to it after a while.

  3. Always enjoy your photos, thanks! Really like the spoon I bought from you. It’s the first tool out of the drawer when our young engineer in residence cooks. Very handy!

Leave a Reply

