just pictures

a bunch of things underway, as usual. What’s different is now I have to get them done & out of here in the next 2 months. They’re going ahead w rehabbing my shop, so I have to move stuff out…well, it’s some motivation to finish up stuff & organize.

here’s pictures, in no particular order. 

One of the projects is the chest of drawers I started last winter as part of the presentation I did at Winterthur. I picked it up again after about 6 months, and brought it to Historic New England last week. I really am enjoying this work; pretty new to me. I have only made a few examples of joined work with turnings & moldings for the decoration; and just one in the last 10 years. Matt’s planes & techniques are real winners. I’m slower than death, but give me 20 years of practice & I can keep pace with the carvings.

More to come on all these topics.

LINKS:

https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/i-have-until-december-but-might-need-that-much-time/

https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/getting-ready-for-winterthur-dalbergia-turnings-dovetailed-drawers/

Matt Bickford’s book & planes http://www.msbickford.com/

2 thoughts on “just pictures

  1. Peter, that chest is going to be magnificent. Can you share the technique for the moulded raised panels on the faces of the lower drawer fronts? I can see how the ones on the top drawers were applied, but the lower ones have me stumped.

  2. It’s a shame you have nothing going on. You’re an embarrassment of riches.

    Your feckless cur on the sidelines,

    Scott

Leave a Reply

