Riven Cedrela…(to the tune of On Top of Old Smokey)

Riven Cedrela
Riven Cedrela
Riv-en ce-drela
And chestnut & oak
Make up this chest of drawers
Once covered in smoke
 
It’s really quite snappy
But inside it’s rough
My wife really wants one
To store all her stuff
two cases
two cases
Riv-en ce-drela
As light as you please
It built in 2 cases
To move it with ease
 
The turnings & moldings
Are the latest style
To learn to cut rosewood
Will take me a while
 
An allergic reaction
is surely no joke
And if I get one,
It’s back to red oak
dovetails
dovetails
The drawers they have dovetails
And bottoms of pine
The furniture forum’s
An excuse to build mine
 
It’s fussier work than
I usually do
But it’s about time I
Tried something new
15 thoughts on “Riven Cedrela…(to the tune of On Top of Old Smokey)

  1. What does it look like from the front?

    John M. Johnston “P.S. If you do not receive this, of course it must have been miscarried; therefore I beg you to write and let me know.” – Sir Boyle Roche, M.P.

  2. Now where els do you get a world class craftsman doing his blog to sweet old tunes ?
    Just when I thought I couldn’t enjoy your articles more!
    I can’t wait to see your version of this piece.

  3. You’re right about the allergy. My volunteer hours at the boatshop have taken a hit since my sinuses started lighting up every time I worked the stuff. A dust mask helps. Best to start using it before you develop a sensitivity. And that’s probably prudent even if you’re not sanding it.

  4. Another wood that might be bad for you found in Boston 17C stuff is jatoba alias courbaril. The nuts and bark are poisonous although I suppose the lumber might be o. k. in small amounts. This all makes me wonder what the musical instrument guys do!!! Is the life expectancy of luthiers like 25??

  5. Great presentation Peter! You invited us to log in and add a stanza to your song, so here you go….

    I chop, saw and chisel
    From day until night
    But when I sing verses,
    They scream with delight

  6. Proud of you PF! “Hmmm, I think I feel a song coming on…” Nothing like folk tunes in the shop to work to…

Leave a Reply

