17th-c joinery & carving at Port Townsend School of Woodworking

Workshops and classes take a lot of planning; and it seems now that schedules are planned further ahead than ever before. I have been asked about summer of 2014 already…

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. If I am to get out west, (real west, not Connecticut) then it’s time to get cracking. I have two classes planned at the Port Townsend School of Woodworking.  http://www.ptwoodschool.com/Home.html  I’m really looking forward to getting out there, and meeting Tim Lawson, Jim Tolpin and others…But…I need students to make it happen. So, if you are out left, and want to learn some funny, old-timey joinery and carving – it’s time to get to it. If I am to see some western birds, then let’s get serious. 

joined stool, chamfered not turned
joined stool, chamfered not turned
Port Townsend WA
Port Townsend WA

http://www.ptwoodschool.com/2013_woodworking_schedule.html

http://www.ptwoodschool.com/joint_stool_from_a_tree.html

http://www.ptwoodschool.com/17th_century_carved_panel.html

The dates are April 22-26 for the joined stool class, and the following weekend for 2 days of carving, April 27-28.

 

Will I see you there? 

To read more about the school, here’s what Schwarz said some time ago, http://www.popularwoodworking.com/article/woodworking-at-the-end-of-the-world

7 thoughts on “17th-c joinery & carving at Port Townsend School of Woodworking

  1. Hi Peter, I’m in for both classes, I have been worrying if the class would have enough students. Portownsend is an older city than Seattle, the founders missed judged, and thought it would be the main port on the Northern West Coast. Winstonjames

  2. Hi Peter, I have been reading “The Artisan of Ipswitch” and wondering about “the oak trees are different on the west coast” are they a different genetically, or cared for differently, by the Native Americans?0

  3. I would love to attend the class but my back leaves me unable stand at workbenches for any length of time or to do a lot of bending and twisting movements. But I carve your projects in a reduced size using your video as my instructor.

    The Port Townsend Wood Working School is in a very beautiful location with a lot of terrific opportunities for enjoying nature and man made projects of wood. Be sure to visit Edensaw Woods, it is quite the experience in terms of lumber suppliers. The Northwest School of Wooden Boat building is also worth a tour.

Leave a Reply

