riving brakes boxes etc

Here is a simple riving brake we used in the box class at the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship. It’s the first kind I learned on, a forked section of a tree, supported by crossed poles. Works fine. Price is right.

riving brake

A pine tree fell in a storm this spring. My riving brake took the hit. Crushed & mangled.

I used a borrowed one for months, til I finally got around to remaking it. This is the new one.  I prefer this over the forked tree brake, because it puts the riving stock in an easier position to get at…

 

I have been un-packing, sorting and generally getting settled back in the shop after a hectic July. I finished the sample box that I took with me to Maine. I got the bottom on during my demos at the class, but I didn’t get around to the lid. So I finished it in the shop on Monday. It’s extremely white pine, so I think I might stain it with iron oxide/linseed oil.

New box, July 2012

Here you see the wooden pintle hinge arrangement.

 

open

 

The pin(tle) is a continuation of the back board’s rabbets; it requires some careful planning. Then the cleat that fits under the lid has a hole bored in its rear section. This cleat fits over the pintle and when all goes well, you have a hinge. It’s one I have found in a couple of variations in period boxes; but all in all, pretty rare. I use it a lot, folks like the idea of a wooden hinge. I have another version that I am going to use on a very small box coming up next.

 

I’m also shifting around here at home, working with a new computer. So some desk shuffle. I will have more posts about the CFC class. And then some new boxes.
Another batch of spoons for sale in a day or two.

I hope you got to see the stuff the Riven Word folks posted about pitsawing the other day. It’s the tip of the iceberg. Have a look http://blogs.plimoth.org/rivenword/?p=3855

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “riving brakes boxes etc

  1. Would it be possible to get the rough dimensions of your brake? I see how you are fastening the right side of the cross boards and i know you want the cross pieces to be a height to suit the user but how are you fastening the left side I see not bolts or screws and how do you determine the opening. I have a large angle iron that will work well for the back leg.

    Just received my new Lie-Neilson Froe and have been blessed with getting access to a old red oak that had to be taken down. Looking forward to trying to get some wood to work on your a stool from you book.

  2. I swore I left a comment….must have glitched.

    Had some questions on rebated shoulders on English vs American boxes and the frequency we see them.

Leave a Reply

