forget the oak, there’s food to be had

If you have read my blog for a while, then you have heard me go on about Country Workshops, the school in western North Carolina for woodworking classes. I have been a student there since 1980, and sometimes an instructor these days.

up towards the workshop

I can’t say enough good things about the place, and its keepers, Drew & Louise Langsner.  If you are not familiar with CW, then try the website to learn more about it www.countryworkshops.org

hatchet & plane work

In their newsletter today was an item that just about knocked me out of my chair – Louise has started a blog about her cooking. I have often joked that the woodworking is just what we do there to kill time between meals. If you’ve been there, you know what I mean…

 

So if you like good food, and/or cooking take a moment to catch up on what Louise is up to… here with her friend & swimming companion, Smoky Joe.

http://louiselangsner.wordpress.com/

Nice goin’ Louise.

2 thoughts on “forget the oak, there’s food to be had

  1. I just got a copy of Drew’s book “Green Woodworking”. It is a good read. There are a few other books on green woodworking that I would like to have, but they are all out of print. I wonder what makes green woodworking books unpopular? TV, video games, couches, football, beer, computers?

    Not many people seem to be interested in real skills these days. Too bad. It makes me happy to see that folks like Drew have schools where people are interested to go and learn these things. We may be a rare few, but we still exist I suppose.

    Dave

Leave a Reply

