I almost semi-like this walnut stuff

applied moldings in walnut

The walnut situation is getting better…I attribute it to the air-dried stock versus the kiln dried stuff I used on the now-infamous high chair project. https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2011/04/13/kids-chairs/ and https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/walnut-high-chair-assembly-pt-next/ https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/walnut-high-chair-assembly-pt-1/

I started cutting some moldings that are applied to this board chest I’m building. the construction is simple – just four boards nailed together. the front & back boards are nailed to the edges of the side boards. no rabbet, no nothing.

then apply moldings. well, gotta make ’em first. I made this molding plane, from a blank I prepared about 10 years ago in maple. The amazing thing is that I was able to find the blank in the shop when I needed it.

I cut the profile on the bottom of the plane with a fillester and some scratch stocks. then I took an old rabbet plane iron and had Mark shape it to match what I made in wood. It cuts well, but it seems to have a reverse spring to its shape. I hope to fix it, but after this project. For right  now, I just lean a bit. I planed some of the walnut to 3/8″ thick, and ran the molding along one edge. then sawed it off, re-shot the edge, and planed another. This photo is the last one of a batch, and the stock is just a bit wider than the finished molding. it’s being held down by holdfasts, on top of a thick piece of scrap, so the plane and/or my fingers don’t bump into the bench.

moldings

Once they are formed, then I sawed the mitered bits, and nailed them on the chest.

nailing the moldings on

Here’s a detail:

Then there’s going to be a large, 2-part base molding.

the lid will have end cleats and a front lip with carved details.

I’ll get some details of the molding plane, it was fun to make. It turns out I have made a few planes this year, after not doing any for quite a while. The videos by Don McConnell and Larry Williams were a big help, as is being able to see their planes and Matt Bickford’s. The floats by Lie-Nielsen were helpful also. here’s the links:

floats: http://www.lie-nielsen.com/catalog.php?cat=534

the videos I used are:  Traditional Molding Techniques: the Basics w Don McConnell and Making Traditional Side Escapement Planes by Larry Williams. you can get them thru Lie-Nielsen or through Larry & Don’s site http://www.planemaker.com/index.html  (formerly Clark & Williams)

Matt Bickford’s stuff is outstanding too – http://www.msbickford.com/ when I first saw his blog, I thought it was about the Band, but it’s another Big Pink http://musingsfrombigpink.blogspot.com/

Oh, and some turkeys drifted past the shop while I was working on this chest:

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “I almost semi-like this walnut stuff

  1. You have me a little worried speaking almost kindly of walnut after the high chair “adventure”.
    I think the carved details on the front lip are going to set it off nicely.
    Thanks Peter.

  2. I love walnut. Perhaps it’s because, when I was a kid, my Dad felled a walnut tree and we had tons of it laying around.

    I’m intrigued by making my own molding planes and irons. I intend to chase down those videos. I love woodworking but really don’t like loud noises so hand tools appeal to me.

    The one thing I can’t envision about molding planes is how to sharpen the irons.

  3. old carpenters trick: to stop the nail head from splitting the timber near the ends. Tap the head of the nail into the timber 1st. This compresses the wood fibres into the shape of the nail head before the nail point is driven flush.

    Stewie;

Leave a Reply

