a couple more pictures from the joined stool class

a couple more shots from Woodwright’s school last week…

pole lathe practice

Bill ended up turning all four of his stiles on this lathe.  His stool had carved rails, turned stiles and a one-board seat. He took it home for assembly.

The alternative to turned stiles was chamfered stiles, and most went with that option. here’s some in progress:

In making these stools, I always go through several test assemblies. here’s Harvey’s front & back frames test-fitted, lined up foot-to-foot, so now he can drop the side rails in.

Here’s Bill’s full test-fit.  It was mostly his tree that we used, so his stool has its roots right next to his shop at home.

I didn’t get pictures the last day, I got kinda busy.

It was great fun, despite the heat. when the dust settles up here, I will look into scheduling another trip to the Woodwright’s School next year. it’s quite a place.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “a couple more pictures from the joined stool class

  1. Peter, thanks again for a super class. Despite the heat, it was very informative and had a good mix of new skills and repetition.
    Best regards,

    Tom Rettie (the guy in the back)

  2. Hi Peter,

    Yes, thanks for a great class! I have just a couple quick questions to finish the stool….both regarding the seat:

    – For pegging the seat to the legs, for a 1-piece top, I understand 4 pins/pegs, one into each leg; or 4 pins into the apron instead, as per JA. Is that the same for a 2-piece top? So each piece of the seat only gets 2 pins? Wouldn’t that create a pivot point? Or do the butted up edges hold each other in place? Or does it not really matter and I’m too busy looking for the “correct” answer?

    – As far as drilling into the legs/aprons for the pins, I remember to follow the angle of the target receiving the pins (legs or aprons, depending on where you’re putting the pins), trying to miss the drawbore pins. I think you said to go down a good 1 1/2 to 2 inches, yes?

    – What I didn’t get was the size hole to use going into the leg/seat. Do you use the same size hole that you used for the drawbore, about 1/4 inch? Or would you recommend to go a little larger to withstand the pressures put on the seat?

    That’s it….I’m almost ready to finish it off and show off to my neighbors, who are more than slightly amused at the idea of taking a vacation to split logs and build a stool in 114 degree sun!

    Thanks again for all the fun and great instruction!

    Cheers,
    Derek MacInnis

  3. Derek
    sorry I didn’t get all the details for the seat pegging…

    2–piece seat boards need pegs into the rails – so each board gets 3 pegs – one into the long rail, and one each into the short rails. Or 4, one into each stile, and one into each end rail. careful boring into the rails/aprons. they are a smaller target than the stiles. And yes, slightly larger diameter for these pegs is good. I think mine, into stiles, are 3/8″ . the pegs are square, barely any taper. Make a test hole & shave the peg to fit it. practice. let me know if you are in need of more peg stock.

    here’s some text, in case you didn’t see it.
    https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2010/01/31/joined-stool-seat/

    • Thanks Peter….that’s about what I guessed on the peg locations….I’d seen the earlier post, thanks…and the one where JA (I think) has the peg come through the rial….at this point I was mostly concerned about getting the sizing right. I’m good for peg stock, have some oak I grabbed from my dad before moving north to Canada.

      I’m sure this will all be made painstakingly clear (ish!) in the upcoming book….can’t wait for it! And the other projects you mentioned while at Roy’s.

      Thanks again!
      derek

Leave a Reply

