more work-holding methods

In my woodworking training, I was lucky enough to meet several people who were willing to freely share information, techniques etc. – I have always been appreciative of transmission of ideas among crafts-persons… and nowadays this sort of stuff is zinging around the world quite quickly, and reaching a much wider audience than ever before. I suspect this is both a good thing & a bad thing. But tonight, it’s a great thing. We have another drawing from Maurice Pommier. You might remember his other contributions to the blog https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/?s=Maurice

Maurice, I am flattered that my blog posts make you happy, and the feeling is likewise when I see your sketches. they are outstanding.

Here’s Maurice’s note, then the drawing. Click to enlarge. It’s great stuff. Similar to the British books I read when I first learned this work from Drew Langsner & Jenny Alexander. Daniel O’Hagan is shown using something like these in Scott Landis’ The Workbench Book. Worth looking up…

“Hi Peter!
To thanks you for your post on your blog, some little drawings: other ways to pinch and split some wood. Feuillardier is an old job, he works in forest of chesnut tree.
Thanks, I read your post I look the beautiful pictures and it makes me happy.
I wish you good time with shavings and sawdust.” Maurice

feuilardier

12 thoughts on “more work-holding methods

  1. Dear Peter,

    I have to share Maurice’s sentiment, that your blog, your pictures, and the knowledge you share brings me great joy as well. Thank you for the time you take to do it-I have no patience for the digital world, so I am evermore appreciate that you do. I was wondering if at some point you could mention the titles of the British books you read after studying with Jennie Alexander and Drew Langsner. Also, if you have any books you could recommend with examples of 17th century woodcarving, I would be most appreciative. Thank you.

    Matt

  2. Hey Peter,

    Those sketches by Maucice are lovely! I wonder what the “coin” is for, maybe it’s used in conjunction with the “fendeuse”?

    Richard

    PS I am enjoying “The Workbench Book” immensely, I’ve just read the Shaker bench section, and now I’m wondering whether I could make one for the woods with some cunning locking device to keep the drawers inaccessible when I go home at night.

  3. great stuff you guys! I never tire of the methods of work from this period and earlier, the WOW factor is so much fun!
    great video too, thanks.

  4. Maurice,

    love the sketches. I’m off to find a bent limb at the fire wood lot…

    thank you!

    Matt,

    check out Peter’s blog page from 10/5/09 he has listed many great books with plenty of examples of 17-century work.

    oak furniture; The British Tradition, by Victor Chinnery, is an excellent start.

    Joel

  5. Matt says exactly what I would be able to say about Peter Blog, if my english was good! Thanks to Matt.
    David I have 2 benches, one for drawing and the oher for woodworking…

Leave a Reply

