like a walk in the park…

waxwings at Mt Auburn

For the past 8 years or so I have made a trip each May with our friend Marie to “bird” Mt Auburn Cemetery in Cambridge. We got there before the gates opened at 6:30am the other day. The weather was 100% perfect, the birds were everywhere, it was a great walk. We spent about 4 hrs there, by then the birds were settling down, and the lawn mowers and other general noise-makers were going full-tilt. We scrammed.

 Seems like a good year for waxwings – I don’t really have the gear or patience to shoot photos of birds at Mt Auburn Cememetery; but I was able to get a couple of pictures of these waxwings that we watched for a while. Got to see them gathering nest material.

Mt Auburn is a beautiful place, if you haven’t been & you’re near Boston, it’s worth a trip. Something for everyone – birds, trees, flowers, sculpture, etc.  Marie was even able to help someone who was on a literary-grave search (found Longfellow).  Here’s their website, http://www.mountauburn.org/ – where I copped this picture, because I only shot details:

Mt Auburn Cemetery, Cambridge

the trees are much more cooperative for photos than the birds are…they tend to stay put. Here is a great white oak burl, about 4′ in diameter, I’d guess. I see it every year & am always amazed. Even with my recent bowl-mania, I prefer this one on a tree than as woodwork. Mt Auburn is great for trees, there are many fabulous examples, all labeled, some even say when they were planted.

white oak burl
burl on white oak

One more tree, (I didn’t really bring the right lens for landscape stuff…) this dogwood has grown apart from itself, and then rejoined some of its members.

dogwood tree, Mt Auburn

Got one warbler picture, this black & white warbler on a trunk. Warblers are devilish to photograph, and the other day they were all flitting in the leaves.

black & white warbler

I always stop & re-read the grave of my mother’s ancestor, Benjamin Fisk (1778-1863) of Lexington. (my mother’s maiden name was Fiske).

Benjamin Fiske (1778-1863)

But my taste in gravestones runs more to the eighteenth century – it’s one place where I prefer 18th c to 17th c even. Benjamin’s grandfather, Ebenezer Fisk (1698-1775) of Lexington has this great portrait stone in Lexington’s old graveyard. (many years ago, my sister Anne found me a bookend that was patterned after Ebenezer’s stone. I still have it here)

Ebenezer Fisk, 1775

 I’m off to Maine in a couple of days, when I get back I will resume the woodworking blog posts, no doubt with some exceptions (I hope to get some birding in while I am there…) Meanwhile, one more warbler, this one a yellow warbler I got in Plymouth.

yellow warbler, Plymouth

 

yellow warbler, Plymouth
One thought on “like a walk in the park…

  1. Wonderful pictures and the family history is enviable. Not many folks can visit their ancestors in such beautiful surroundings.

    Another fantastic Boston site is the Arnold Arboretum.

Leave a Reply

