better than nothing

flatsawn oak, in joined chest
flatsawn oak, in joined chest

This piece of wood looks like a bad day at the workbench; knots & cracks enough to really test one’s abilities. I put it here to show that the recent posts I had about riven radial stock are the “best-case” scenario…but when you have no first-quality “stuff” then you use what you have available. Just to show it can be done, here is the front of the photo above.

central muntin, joined oak chest, Devon
central muntin, joined oak chest, Devon

So Nathaniel wondered the other day, what use is the flatsawn board I pictured earlier; I say if you have no better, then use it. It will be more difficult, and require more care, than riven stock. But it’s workable. then when you get some nice riven stock, you’ll have something to compare it to.

Here’s a flatsawn white oak panel I carved.

flatsawn white oak carved panel
flatsawn white oak carved panel
4 thoughts on “better than nothing

  1. Hi Peter,
    I recently tried to carve the pattern you showed in the box article from “Woodwork” spring 2009.
    I carved it on a piece of green white oak. I had some trouble with the placement of the leaves, but I think I’ll get better with practice.
    In this style of carving, is the “ground” lowered and smoothed enough to look neat or should I take a little more care to make it look nice? Did you make the punches you use to texture the background? If so, how.

    all the best,
    Tom Goodman
    Bailey, NC

  2. Tom

    Glad you are trying your hand at the carving. The ground is faceted, so not terribly fussy. yes, I made the punches, scrap pieces of mild steel and a file or two. I will try to address that in a post soon.

  3. As a collector of early English furniture from the Elizabethan and Jacobean period for over forty five years, I found this imformation quite educatioinal to say the least. This early practice of construction techniques is useful for those who are keen on making furniture that will last for centuries to come. I would like to as your viewers if there would be an interest in learning more in the way of construction as I plan to have an exhibition on period furniture especially case pieces and chairs which total over one hundred. cupboards and the like will be featured for the public to feast on.

Leave a Reply

