preparation for “Woodworking in America”

preparation underway
preparation underway

The picture is the result  of some preparation undeway for my trip to the Woodworking in America  conference in a couple of weeks. http://handtools.woodworkinginamerica.com/register

I’m not bringing all the junk in the picture, I’ll just take some of these oak boards, and leave the firewood and shavings behind.

new stock of oak boards
new stock of oak boards

The other day I started some carved panels that will be part of my demonstration. I hope to cover some carving, joinery, stock preparation – that sort of thing. Anyone with specific ideas/requests, leave a comment & I will see if I can maybe tailor my demonstrations to suit some particular notion. No promise, but worth a shot.

carved panel demo preparation
carved panel demo preparation
5 thoughts on “preparation for “Woodworking in America”

  1. Peter: How I remember demonstration and class preparation. Your photo of the amount of shavings and scrap wood that remain after riving speaks volumes. It is great fire starter and wood. Then there is sharpening and getting ALL the necessary tools together. I travelled to many wonderful places and met wonderful people. Youth is great stuff. I finally extended my shop and classes at home. That too has its charms. Have a great journey.

    Jennie
    ~

  2. How about doing something that demos how to deal with mutins that have moulding on them and that moulding wraps around to rails. How do you make those transitions, how do you measure out the tenons and such. What are my options for making a continuous seam of moulding around my panel?

    Jerome

  3. Jerome

    I think mitered moldings are going to be beyond the scope of what I will talk about & present. Mainly because they are the exception rather than the rule in seventeenth-century English & New England joinery. There are some real beauties I’ve seen in English stuff, and a few from New England, but very late, 1690s or so..

    The blog has some stuff about mitered & beveled joints, but not a lot. see these posts:
    https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2009/02/11/seventeenth-century-mortise-tenon-work/

    https://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/mortise-tenon-seventeenth-century/

  4. Thanks for answering my question. I keep wandering into the wrong century. I’ve just been kind of flumixed about how to make that joint. Sounds like it is time to play with some wood.

    I will be in town a day early for the conference. If I want to see examples of 17th century woodworking where might I want to visit? I am highly interested in chests and wainscoting these days.

  5. Jerome: best shot in that area is the Winterthur Museum near Wilmington Deleware. Guided tours, so you might need to tell them what you want to see…they have an excellent collection of 17th c furniture. For wainscoting, go to England.

Leave a Reply

