changing horses in mid-stream. new carving

MFA cupboard door #1
MFA cupboard door #1

This is the door frame & panel I made for the MFA cupboard project. The carvings are based on related examples; the frame carving is essentially a copy of that on the cupboard at the MET in NY.

And while it’s been hanging around my shop, I decided I didn’t like it. So I carved version two – below.

new version MFA cupboard door
new version MFA cupboard door

This one has S-scrolls that relate to the lower case in the MFA. Here is a detail of the scrolls I used to arrive at the new pattern.

S-scroll MFA cupboard
S-scroll MFA cupboard

The addition of the open circles & half-circles shortens the S-scrolls. I like them better that way. The cupboard base also has S-scrolls without the open circles; so either door frame is conceivable; but I lean towards the 2nd one. There will be no Door #3. It’s not Let’s Make a Deal.

A couple of tweaks; I have to decided whether to cut out the background of the full-circles, or cross-hatch them. Also, add some nail-holes-as-a-punch.

Then pillars. Then applied moldings. Then paint. Somewhere in there the pine top boards, soffit, etc. A zillion details, and this is only the upper case. Imagine if I were making the whole thing.

One thought on “changing horses in mid-stream. new carving

  1. Peter, what wonderful work! I consider myself just a novice in the world of woodworking, but I have enough experience to truly appreciate all of your efforts! I’m a high school history teacher as well as a member of the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA), and I enjoy everything related to the trades. I will link your blog to my site (www.medieval-living.com/wordpress/index.php) It is still very much in its infancy, but I hope to grow something useful to anyone interested in Medieval and Rennaissance history.

Leave a Reply

