The end of the year. It’s OK w me, I don’t mind seeing it go, but they sorta run together anyway. I have known Heather for ages & ages, she wrote a nice piece about her approach to winter, post-holidays. Good stuff.  http://heatherneill.com/studio-blog/2013/12/28/resolutions/

I have been carving spoons steadily, while on vacation from the shop. I’ll be back there in some capacity soon, but hewing & carving away at spoons meanwhile. Also, the end-of-the-year sorting of photos, many that never made it anywhere.

Here goes:

First, some spoon wood. Snow is now gone, I hope it comes back.

spoon wood piled high

I finished a few of these cherry serving spoons, two were sold, and we kept one – here they are chip-carved & oiled. Shows the patterns in the bowls I spoke of earlier.

spoons finished

Now, leftover photos. I will never get around to telling the story of this stupid holdfast. Presented to me by Ken Schwarz at Colonial Williamsburg in 2007, mostly just to shut me up…you had to be there…

holdfast

I have a large oak table waiting to be shipped out to its customer. I flew blind as far as fitting the end boards – nothing to go by. It’s probably overkill, certainly is for the period, but it should hold.

perhaps overkill

Late Oct I took part in a program at Historic New England, and we got to see this chest up-close. Boston work, real nice.

boston chest w drawer HNE_edited-1

boston chest side panel HNE pl

At the back, there is wood-extraction galore – riven, fore-planed, millsawn, and frame-0r-pitsawn. The whole show.

boston chest pitsawing v millsawing

 

Saw this sticker in Lexington back in the spring. It never fit in a blog post, but been thinking about Maine lately…and the GD a consistent soundtrack.

GD maine sticker

Even lacking snow, the river is always worth watching. Resident mallards, few winter ducks thus far.

ducks

 

So how do I reckon the beginning of winter? Well, I walk down to the riverbank and turn left. Then I see this – and know it’s now winter.

 

river view

 

Look closer – up in the upper left corner,  two redtails sitting side-by-each. That’s winter.

two hawks

 

 

I really want to offer my most sincere thanks for all the great support I have received here from the blog-readers. I never expected such a response when I started this back in 2008. You have been great, I appreciate it. Back to the spoons now.

 

