Remember this creature? http://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/wooden-saw-vise/

wooden saw vise

wooden saw vise

I dug out my copy I started some time ago. It was at the point where I needed to turn the roller that tightens the two frames of the vise. It works by twisting the roller – it has an off-center round tenon fitted into the two front stiles. Here’s the old one showing the roller at the bottom of the front frame. 

saw vise showing cam action

After turning the cylinder, I thought some about how to make the off-center tenons. I’m not Roy Underhill, so that means I did not mark new centers, re-mount it on the lathe, and turn it off-center . Instead, I marked it out with an awl & compass, and sawed, split & shaved it. Quick & accurate if you take it step by step.

I started by marking plumb lines through the center of the roller’s ends. This helps me get both ends marked out so they agree. I set the roller in the “joiner’s saddles” or V-blocks for any moderns out there. Hit a holdfast, then used a square and awl to strike a vertical line on the end grain, through the centerpoint. Check that w the square, then mark the other end

scribing plumb

Joyner’s saddle

 Now it’s simply a matter of setting a compass to 5/16” to strike a circle of 5/8” on that line, bumped up to the top of the roller…

scribed round tenon off center

layout

then some saw kerfs, and splitting off the waste. One:

split rough out tenon

Two, three..

split tenon 2

split tenon

roughed-out

rough round tenon

roughed-out tenon

 Then shaving the roughed-out tenon by using the spoon carver’s “crossed thumbs” grip.

fine tuning tenon

cross-thumbs

Test fit in a hole bored in a piece of scrap hard wood. trim to fit.

test fit

Here’s the front assembly.

front frame

off-center tenon

off-center tenon

The roller bears against two strips of hardwood glued to the rear stile’s inner faces. I keep a box of short off-cuts of straight-grained hickory and ash. The box is labeled “tool handle stock” – but I dip into it whenver I need dry, hard clear stuff. Hickory is my first choice for these. The originals were repositioned, after wearing out one side/edge.

hickory

right now mine are just glued on. The old ones are glued & nailed. Next time I’ll start testing the action of the cam-roller, and see how well it closes the jaws of the vise.

glue up

As I was ready to leave, here’s the view out the window. I love it this time of year.

 new snow

