a small oak chest
Sometimes I forget them altogether. Found this photo today while looking thru some folders here; and I haven’t seen this chest in a couple of years. I assume it’s in a repro house at the museum, so I’ll go looking for it one of these days.
It’s based on some tw0-panel chests I saw from Devon about 5 years ago. I really like the idea of these and want to make one for my house. I’ve seen them done with horizontal panels like this, or sometimes with wide vertical panels set apart by the wide muntin. Overall width is in the vicinity of 36″ – so a good 10″ or so smaller than most joined chests I make; some are even wider, the Savell shop in Braintree Massachusetts made them about 52″ wide. 
 
 here’s a Devon one I saw in a National Trust house in Cornwall in 2004.  Its lid has been altered to hinge in the midst of it, rather than at the rear…
 

Devon chest in Cothele

 

and here is one more I did in 2009. These are mostly made from sawn oak, the panels are about 12″ wide or so.

white oak chest 2009

 

I have shown the original this is based on in detail before, the flatsawn stock was really tough quality.

central muntin, joined oak chest, Devon

 

and one detail of my panel from the repro above:

flatsawn white oak carved panel

 

I’ve never seen a New England one with only two panels, Trent mentions one that got away…maybe it will show up someday.

For those hankering for details about chests, (or anything else) remember to search the blog. There’s 3 years’ worth of stuff here. For some ideas about dimensions, see http://pfollansbee.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/joined-chest-proportions/

